Tagore Center Foundation

Our team



Dr. Ruma Acharya, Founder and President of Tagore Center Foundation (TCF)

Ruma is an Engineer by profession, entrepreneur, and philanthropist by heart. After working 12 years in an oil patch, Ruma ran her own engineering consulting company, Ground Technology, Inc. (GTI)  for 20 yrs. GTI specialized in Civil, Environmental, and Construction Management. After selling GTI in 2010, she founded Scindia, LLC –a construction management company. 

Dr Asoke

Dr. Asoke Deysarkar, Co-Founder and Advisor of TCF​

Dr. Deysarkar is the President and CEO of PfP Industries which is ranked as one of the top 100 companies in Houston. PfP Industries is headquartered in Houston, Tx with branches in various locations around United States and a guar manufacturing facility in India. Asoke earned B.Tech ( Honors in Chemical Engineering, 1st ranked ) from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. He earned MS and PhD from University of greater Manchester, England and MBA from University of Houston.

Advisory board

philamena baird

Philamena Baird , Chairwoman of the Advisory Board of TCF

Philamena’s charitable endeavors have benefitted the Living Arts Council of The Woodlands, the Academy of Arts’ Summer Camp for Children, Woodlands Symphony Orchestra, the State of Texas’ Commissions for Women and for the Arts, March of Dimes, Child Advocates, Houston Achievement Place, KUHF, and American Heart Association.



Michele J. Sabino, Ed.D., Advisory Board Member of TCF​

Michele has over 40 years’ of experience in organized philanthropy and fundraising, public and private education, program management, training, and development.   Nonprofit board engagement includes:

  •  The Rothko Chapel, chair of the Governance Committee
  • Downtown Redevelopment Authority TIRZ#3, Vice Chair, mayoral appointment



Dr. Kathy Flanagan, Advisory Board Member of TCF​

Kathy C. Flanagan, M.D., a native Texan, is a diplomate of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, a Rappaport Fellow of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, Immediate Past President of the Houston Medical Forum and currently serves as the Chair of Mayor Sylvester Turner’s Health Equity Response Task Force – Medical Care Subcommittee. 

Dr. Flanagan has a passion for community service and has served on several boards. She currently serves on the boards of Interfaith Ministries, Menninger Clinic and Justice Forward.


William Prout, Advisory Board Member of TCF​​

Bill Prout is Senior Vice President and Manager, Corporate Banking with Bank of Texas. Prout joined Bank of Texas in May of 2014, and is focused on providing banking solutions to middle-market businesses in Houston and across Texas.  His team provides debt capital, supporting business acquisitions, working capital needs, equipment purchases, and owner-occupied real estate.


Arindam Ghosh

Aurko Dutta

Chandana Guha

Lali Pal Sen

Sanchli Basu

Sneha Bhavsar

Somdatta Basu

Surupa Shaw

Swati Barman

William Sutton